Thursday, May 18, 2006

Session Report - more Caylus thoughts

Report available here. I do a further analysis of Caylus. Note that I haven't read anyone else's thoughts on Caylus yet, so I may be repeating what others have said, or I may be saying something original.

Games played: Yinsh, Lord of the Rings: the Confrontation, Puerto Rico x 2, El Caballero, Caylus, Thurn and Taxis.

Link: A blog devoted to "strange" party games called Strange Games.


Technorati tags: , ,


Simon J said...

In LOTR Confrontation, if the Orcs attack Frodo, Frodo can still retreat. (This is from the LOTR:C FAQ).

One of the biggest drawbacks to this great game is that there's lots of these little questions that need the FAQ - really most of the stuff in the FAQ should have been in the rulebook.

I think you might be confusing the actual rule that says when both sides play 'text' cards the Dark side is resolved first into a non-existent rule that Dark abilities always resolve first.

There is no general rule about which abilities trump others - ie Warg > Frodo > Orcs

Yehuda Berlinger said...

Simon: indeed, I read the rule as the dark piece effect taking place before the white one, even though I had previously (erroneously, or so I had thought) played that Frodo could escape such an attack.

If you say that this only refers to the card effects, I can accept that.